Sisterhood blog hop

I was tagged for this Sisterhood blog hop by none other than my gorgeous wifey Dragonflylady77.  Surely I don’t need to introduce her?  I post about her enough on my blog!  In any case, she is the woman who was crazy enough to decide on a forever with me.  She is my rock and the one who keeps me sane (no easy feat), I have never met a more caring, understanding, funny, wonderful person in my life.

But how about we get on with the show?

The rules for this blog hop are simple:

  • Post the Sisterhood logo in your blog post
  • Answer the 10 questions you were asked
  • Link your blog back to the blogger who tagged you
  • Nominate up to 10 bloggers to answer 10 questions of your choosing

Here are my answers to the questions Dragonflylady77 asked…

 

1. What’s your least favourite book?

It would quite simply have to be Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier.  It was one of the books we were forced to read in Year 12 English at high school and I could not get into it.

Then of course there is the lovely ‘Questions Kids Ask About Sex’ book that I posted about on my blog over the weekend… it might have taken over the number 1 spot I think.  If you didn’t read my blog post about why we are going to burn it, you can read it here.  Yeap, nothing like a little self-promotion!

 

2. What’s your favourite book from childhood?4c599f3dec9bbde5d8c9eb308a7587c6

A favourite book?  Too hard to say, but I absolutely LOVED the Babysitters Club series, by Ann M. Martin.  I read Claudia’s Bad Break a lot, so perhaps that is my favourite childhood book?  I also read Tessa Duder’s Alex quartet on such a regular basis my parents ended up buying me the series so I could stop getting it out of the library.  I cannot tell you how excited I was when the first book was made into a movie!

 

3. What author(s) inspired you to become a writer?

When I was 10 or 11 a girl in my class won a writing competition and as part of her prize an author – Diana Noonan – came to our class and worked with a select bunch of us.  I guess you could say she had some impact?  Tessa Duder (mentioned above) is also another of my inspirations.

 

4. How do you feel about eBooks?

I don’t mind them, I think they have their place… but there is nothing quite like holding a book in your hand and smelling the pages!

 

5. Are you a compulsive reader or do you take your time getting through the story?

I used to be a very compulsive reader… then I had kids and learnt what being tired was all about; it now takes me days, sometimes weeks to get through a book.  I seem to go through phases at the moment, I will read every night for two weeks, then I won’t touch a book for a month.  I guess this is partly related to the fact I have to do so much reading for my university classes?

 

6. Which book(s) have you reread the most?

white_oleander

White Oleander – Janet Fitch
Alex (quartet) – Tessa Duder
Accident – Danielle Steel
Once Were Warriors – Alan Duff

 

7. If you could live in any world depicted in a book, what would it be?

I don’t know that I want to live in any world depicted in a book I’ve read, but when I was younger I wanted to be Alex Archer, so I guess you could say I wanted to live in her world.

 

8. If you could kiss any book character, who would it be?the-mane-event-1

I’m copying my wife here, but I would love to kiss (and do so much more with) Mase from The Mane Event (Shelly Laurenston)

 

9. Do you communicate with your favourite authors on Twitter?I

Some of them!

 

10. If you could have dinner with four literary characters, who would you choose?

Ugh, I hate questions like this…  Definitely Alex Archer (from the Alex series).  Who else? Um, Mase (from The Mane Event (and he can stay for dessert too…)).  Beth Heke (from Once Were Warriors).  And in a throwback to my youth, Claudia Kishi (from the Babysitters Club).

 

These are my questions:

How long have you been blogging?
If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
Who is the most inspirational woman in your life?
If you could invite three of your fellow bloggers to dinner, who would they be?
In a perfect world, what job would you have?
Did you have a list of baby names when you were younger (like in school), if so, what are some names that were on the list?
You can pick any character from a movie to be your husband or wife, who is he/she?
What is one thing you’d do if the thought of it didn’t terrify you?
Are you crafty?  If so, what crafts do you enjoy?
Best vacation you’ve ever been on?

And the lovely ladies I invite to answer them are:

Megan from My Little Corner of the World
Tiffany from The Crunchy Mom Next Door
Lace Winter Lace Winter

I would invite more but it seems my wife invited the ladies I would have invited 😉

 

Talk to me!

